The End

IMG_1583

No, it’s not the predicted end of the world as fortold by the Mayans. That didn’t quite work out. It’s the end of an era, for me. Tonight is my last day at my job. I only work four hours, but it’s at ungodly hour, at a popular retail destination, on the actual busiest shopping day of the year. You might think that honor would go to Black Friday, but it is actually the Saturday before Christmas. So my last day will not include a farewell party, a cake, or sad goodbyes. Instead it will be spent frantically trying to make customers happy at the backside of an already long day. If it sounds brutal, it is. Retail is not for the faint of heart.

I have mixed feelings about my departure. I’ve been there eight and a half years. I’m an original employee, and helped open the store when it was first built. I’ve worked in every department. I was a supervisor, with expertise in many areas. Honestly, I am the kind of dedicated employee that you would love to have. But it’s time to let it go.

Working nights and weekends has meant putting my family in second place far too many times. I’ve turned down countless invitations to parties, weddings, showers and many other social events. I’ve lost Thanksgiving completely. I’ve turned the holiest of holidays into just another task to get through with my sanity intact. And what has it gotten me? A bum knee and little else. I’m over it.

We’re calling it retirement for now, even though I’m a little young for that. The rest I’ll figure out as I go along. See you later retail, I have a feeling I won’t miss you a bit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

