The Mitten

Image

I was born and raised in Michigan, and even though I no longer live there, it holds a special place in my heart. Keep in mind that most of my family still lives there, so of course we visit often. But even if they didn’t, I’d still go back. Now you can keep the long, cold snowy winters, unless of course you are into skiing, sledding, snowmobiling, skating, and snowman building. If you are a winter lover, then Michigan is the place for you. I just don’t happen to be that person. But for the rest of the seasons, it’s the place to be.

There are gritty urban places you can skip over, just like any state. I can’t even begin to cover the whole state. All I can do is talk about the places that I know. Growing up near the shores of Lake Michigan gave me an appreciation for beaches, sand dunes, lighthouses, and sunsets. I know there are many people in the world who share this love of the beach. It’s not all about sunbathing or even swimming. It’s about the sound of the waves, the feel of the wind and the sand between your toes. It doesn’t even matter to me if it’s cold, or rainy, and blowing up a storm. I still love to just be there on the shore.

If you are not familiar with the west coast of Michigan, you might be surprised at how much it resembles an ocean. I’ve posted photos of the lighthouses and waves, and people around the world think it’s an ocean. There’s a reason why they are called The Great Lakes. These are no gentle little inland ponds, but nearly freshwater seas. The sand dunes go on for miles. In nearly every small town along the coast, you can get your fill of sunsets, sand dunes, beaches, and lighthouses. It’s a vacation paradise, I swear.

I live in a place that has no fondness for the state of Michigan. Most of my friends have never even been there and refuse to set foot in a state that holds their rival football team. Well, that’s their loss. Just across the border is a lovely state just waiting to take you in, if only you’d give it a chance. Like they say, it’s Pure Michigan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

