Still Wondering…

Image

I started this blog to help me figure out the next step in my life, and to practice writing. But I realized that I hadn’t been doing much in the way of introspection. I’ve been off work for several weeks now, and filling my life with domesticity. But without small children about, the work load is light. I’ve been planning and scheming about my garden, but implementation is a long way off yet. Do you think it’s possible that I really should think about another job for the future?

Excuse me while I think out loud here. First of all, our finances will allow me to continue at home if I so wish. So let’s take that out of the equation. What else would be gained by another job? Well, interaction with others would be a real plus. But do I have to be in a paid position for that? I have plenty of friends and activities, especially at our church. Self worth? Maybe. I do find myself explaining what I’m doing at home, as if I should have some type of worthy cause. Even though I do enjoy my hobbies, others may not find them as a valuable activity. And should that even matter to me?

It all comes down to the amount of training I would need to get another job. You see, I’ve hurt my knee, and it won’t actually get much better than it is. So that puts all of those unskilled standing jobs out of my reach. My college degree in accounting is so old as to be practically worthless. I’d have to go back and completely retrain myself, and I never even liked accounting! I’ve looked at various office jobs, and I simply don’t have the skill set. And do I even want to acquire those skills?

I guess I’ll continue to think it through. I’ve always liked the domestic arts, and I’ve always been quite good at them. Is that so bad? There are many that envy me these days. I’m just not sure it’s enough. The story continues….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

