Comfort and Care

Image

I’ve never been very good at dealing with medical problems, whether my own or anyone else. In other words, I knew early on that I would never be a doctor, or any other kind of medical professional. But when you raise children, you just have to deal with it anyway, no matter how difficult it seems. Turns out that as you age, there comes a time when medical issues pop up more and more often. Just great. I’ve never liked to face any kind of health problem straight on, but as time goes by, you simply have no choice. More and more of your family and friends have illnesses or injuries to deal with, and ignoring it just doesn’t work. I’ll be honest, it’s my least favorite part of life.

Favorite or not, it has to be faced. There comes a time when a loved one needs you there to help you deal with something. Okay, fine, I guess I have to go. Grumble, grumble. But you know what? It wasn’t so bad. My brother needed a little support while his wife had major surgery, and I was able to go and provide that support. Now that I’m not working, it sure is nice to be able to do these kinds of things, to just drop everything and drive up there to hold his hand. Actually, we mostly just talked and laughed all day. But it accomplished the same thing.

Now I’m not saying these things to brag about my good heart. Part of it was simply family obligation. No, I’m saying these things to tell others not to be afraid to provide a helping hand in times of trouble. I don’t like hospitals anymore than the next guy. However, sometimes you just have to suck it up and go. You’ll be surprised how good it feels. And your loved ones will thank you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

