Let’s Master Gardening!

Image

I’ve been a passionate gardener for quite a few years now, even to the point where people often ask my advice on their own gardens. But truthfully, I have no real training or certification. Everything I know is self taught. I’ve read many books, studied garden blogs from around the world, and just went out and tried things myself in my own yard. But soon, I’ll get some real expert training by starting my Master Gardener classes. I can hardly wait!

The Master Gardener program is really a volunteer program. Once you become a Master Gardener, you are expected to put in time in the community to help others with their gardening issues. Whether it’s planting flowers in public places, manning the garden hotline, volunteering with school garden clubs, or giving garden talks to groups, there is a volunteer opportunity for everyone. And in return for your commitment, you are taught and trained in all aspects of gardening. Sounds like a winning arrangement to me.

So it’s back to school for me next month. I think I even need to go out and buy myself a notebook! Do you know how long it’s been since I’ve needed school supplies? Well, it doesn’t matter, because I’m excited either way. Becoming a Master Gardener is something I’ve always wanted to do, and I’ll wear my title with pride.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

